Form feet and legs. Form arms and body.

And I’ll form the head.

Review: Phantom Planet – Raise The Dead

Posted by rapaleeman on April 16, 2008

Some people were asking why I only review video games.  Well, I hadn’t gotten around to anything else until now.  Figured I’d review the new Phantom Planet album since I am a fan.  I may get around to putting up a review of a couple of movies I saw recently (namely Street Kings), but I don’t know.  Not really motivated to write those at this point.  We’ll see.

Here’s the Phantom Planet review:

Ok, I’m a huge Phantom Planet fan.  Been with them since I heard “The Guest”.  Yes, “California” was the first track I heard, however it was on the radio almost a year before The OC aired so when I say I’m a fan it isn’t because of some commercial vehicle they attached themselves to.  I even somewhat enjoyed the self-titled album they put out.  It was different, but it worked in my opinion to bring together a type of ordered chaos.

With that said, this album is just weird.  I’m not really sure where they wanted to go or even where they are heading.  “Phantom Planet is Missing” is the closest thing this album resembles, but even that would be pretty innacurate. 

It seems that they took a bunch of songs that should have been on “The Guest” and added in some old school flavor to create this amalgom of sound.  It isn’t bad by any means, but it is a pretty draastic departure in terms of the sound.  Like I said before, the lyrics are actually more along the line of “The Guest” rather than the self-titled and that is a good thing since the self-titled was a little shallow in terms of writing.

Overall though, the album is just really hard to classify and being a fan of their older stuff really doesn’t help all that much here.  I would honestly recommend this to fans of bands like JET or Panic! At the Disco rather than older Phantom Planet fans.  Those folks will probably get more out of it.

There are a few good songs here, but not much to get excited about.  I guess this album dropped silently because of that fact.  Or maybe it was because they left Epic and went to Fueled by Ramen where they do blend quite well along side the new Panic! album.  As much as I would like to Highly Recommend this album, I can’t. 

INDIFFERENT

3 Responses to “Review: Phantom Planet – Raise The Dead”

  1. caats said

    i’ll disagree. especially comparing them to panic. blech, insulting. the new album is great imo, better than the last. a lot of the middle songs take a few listens, but you really start to hear their depth. the first 4 songs are really awesome and catchy in my opinion

  2. Nate said

    I have to disagree too. I’ve been a pp fan for a long time now. It’s good how they experiment with their sound and don’t put the same album out every 2 years. Their stuff is nothing like jet or panic. I don’t understand how you being a fan wouldn’t like or understand this album. Their song writing has improved sooo much since back in the day.

  3. rapaleeman said

    Appreciate the feedback. Most of my friends just call me and refuse to leave feedback since they’re lazy and drunk most of the time.

    Having listened to it twice more while sitting at desk here at work I can say that I do see your points.

    With that said I still can’t really recommend this. Maybe comparing them with Panic was a little harsh, I hear that. It was one of those spur of the moment comparisons.

    Up until “Do The Panic” the album was ok. Kinda catchy, but nothing like the first 2 albums or even the self-titled for that matter. It just as a whole doesn’t have that must listen to vibe. Rating it INDIFFERENT isn’t a bad thing. More of like an average.

    Anyway, I don’t hate this album, but for the masses and my friends I can’t recommend running out and buying it. If your a fan you’re going to get it and listen to it no matter what (I did and do). For those just starting out, you can find better material from them in their previous efforts. Any of them.

Leave a Reply

 
