Form feet and legs. Form arms and body.

And I’ll form the head.

No matter the package and prestige, a rip-off is still a rip-off

Posted by rapaleeman on April 25, 2008

Ok, so today is Friday.  I’m tired, have had a really bad day today at work due to not having written the correct words in my resume (not the content just the words) to get a promotion so life is kinda sucking right now. 

So to cheer myself up I turn the greatest band of all time JOURNEY.  Yes they are awesome and usually make me feel happy when I am blue.  I was listening to “Seperate Ways” (their greatest song) when I check my e-mail and see they are touring again.  I was extremely excited.  So I checked Ticketmaster.  $131 dollars for pit tickets.  They have got to be out of their minds.  So I check their website to see if maybe “he” has returned to justify the price.  Sadly “he” has not.

For those of you that don’t know, the “he’ is of course the greatest lead singer from any band ever.  Steve Perry.  He is the awesome.  Without him, Journey is incomplete and can never be taken seriously again.  Perry was the reason for their success and has said he would come back, but from what I hear Steve Cain is a jackass so that will never happen.

I need this.  No sir, I demand it.  He owes me.  Well not me as in myself but the other Journey fans.  To see him live on stage doing “Seperate Ways”, “I’ll Be Alright”, or “Faithfully” would be the best night of my life.

To see Journey now, what with their slicker than ever album covers and supposedly great new lead singer that sounds “exactly” like Perry (yeah….bullshit is right) would be a crime.  For them to be publishing themselves as Journey is a crime.  Admitingly, Perry wasn’t the original singer, but he made them (add Randy Jackson on bass since he was actually good for the complete best line-up ever).  It’s like Black Flag without Henry Rollins.  Who knew them or cared about them until that crazy bastard took the mic. 

Anyway, to package themselves the way they have is a crime against nature and a rip-off.  The songs won’t and don’t sound right (check youTube).  The production, while slick has no substance.  Journey is the greatest band ever.  Period.  To see this disgusts me and makes me wish I could hate them, but alas I can’t.  Their songs are just too damn great.

Leave a Reply

 
