Form feet and legs. Form arms and body.

And I’ll form the head.

PS3: Oh how painful love can be

Posted by rapaleeman on June 5, 2008

Ok, so I finally manned up and bought an 80 GB  Playstation 3 last December and overall it was a good purchase.  I love being able to play 90% of the PS2 and essentially all of my PSOne games (WTF happened Xbox?).  I love the controller.  No I don’t have a Dual Shock 3, but the Sixaxis is great to me (besides the l2 and r2, but that is really minor).  I love that I can plug damn near anything into it and the PS3 can read it.  Same with being able to install Linux.  I did install it, but never use it.

So what’s the point of this tripe that you are reading?  Well last night while playing MLB 08 The Show (great game, buy now) a few things occured to me that made me hate that infernal, heavy, hot, and dust-magnety piece of shit. 

For one it is both bigger and heavier than the ORIGINAL XBOX?  Damn man.  This thing buckled one of my IKEA bookshelves.  Yes I know it is IKEA (read: cheap) but seriously.  DAMN!!

The thing runs hot.  I mean steaming hot.  I can’t close the cabinet since it runs so hot.  Plus it is a dust and fingerprint magnet.  It just looks so great out of the box, but within 2 days it was dusty and gross looking.  Like after a hooker has had a night of “mileage” out on the Vegas Strip and then comes to your hotel room for another trip.  Ewww…..

Also, the stupid mandatory hard drive loads coming on a ton of games.  WTF does it do?  It doesn’t make the game faster.  MLB 08 and Grant Turismo 5 Prologue are slow as crap, but what about the cross-platform games.  Lost (can’t believe I bought that), Dark Sector, and Devil May Cry 4 just to name a few.  The load times aren’t better.  The controls and frame-rate are the same.  The graphics aren’t much-improved.  It just seems to me to be a piece of bubble gum where a weld or permanent fastener needs to be.

Finally, what the hell is up with not being able to charge the controller without the system being turned on and running?  I end up recharging my Sixaxis (which does last a while, but still) through my computer.  That you sony for using USB cables, but the one that comes in the box is like 3 feet long.  Usefull?  I think not.  A system update could fix this though.

On the whole I really like my PS3 more than my 360 even though my 360 gets more playtime.  The PS3 has built-in Wi-Fi, memory cards for cameras and phones, and the ability to play stuff off of that media.  The biggie is support and quality though.  The PS3 has not broken on me.  The system updates have come regularly AND actually fixed shit that was wrong or gave more support for stuff.  Where is my backwards compatibility update for my 360?  Never coming if you ask me.

Whatever.  No clue why I felt like bitching and writing about this.  Thought maybe some would find it interesting.  If you don’t then I’m sorry.  Well, not really.  As a matter of fact, no I’m not.

End Random Rant about the PS3

One Response to “PS3: Oh how painful love can be”

  1. controlling chaos said

    I just ordered the 80-GIG that has Metal Gear Solid 4 and 1 rumble controller. For as much money as these systems cost, you would think 2 controllers would be a no biggie,but then again we are buying from large corporations.

    I’m not a fan boy but the PS3 has a lot to offer plus the Bluray is sweet! Even If I don’t play a lot of games, I can always watch Bluray. SONY needs to fix the Online server,but in time I’m sure they will get it right similar to Xbox live.

    I bought a few games already:
    Heavenly Sword
    Call of Duty 4
    Lost Planet
    Ratchet & Clank

    Games to watch for:
    Resident Evil 5
    Resistance 2
    Black 2
    Call of Duty 5

    I agree the 360 controller is designed a lot better, reminds me of the Dreamcast controller. Good luck w/ your PS3.

Leave a Reply

 
