Form feet and legs. Form arms and body.

And I’ll form the head.

Review: Sidekick LX

Posted by rapaleeman on August 19, 2008

So the Nokia I bought off the internet was not exactly new and as such I was unable to unlock it.  I’m taking care of the matter, but that did not help me this weekend.  I needed a phone.  So I said eff it and I bought the LX.  I know, $400 cash for a phone is a tad steep but damn is it not actually worth it.

So I have previously owned a Sidekick 3, Sidekick iD, Sidekick 2008, and now a Sidekick LX and the LX is the best of the bunch.  I opted not to spend the extra 50 on the Tony Hawk model.  It looked cooler and all, but not worth fifty bones.  I bought Soul Calibur IV instead.

I’ll start with the first thing that people will see: the gorgeous 3 inch screen.  This thing is absolutely amazing.  It is made of the same tech that the Sharp Aquos TVs are made out of and it shows.  Clean, crisp, and surprisingly thin.  The screen is easy to read and makes reading even the smallest fonts readable.  Amazing.

The next thing is the form factor.  It is typical Sidekick (meaning held like a PSP), but the thing is so damn thin. From the front it looks huge what with the giant screen and flanking controls, but seriously, rotate this thing to the side and you won’t see much.  With that said it is still physically big in you hands and easy to hold up to your ear.  The controls are dead on and not as small as the buttons on the Sidekick 2008 which were almost too hard to press/find by feel.  The only button issue is the easy to press keys on the spine.  I have accidently turned the speakerphone on more than once.

In all though the feel of the phone is great.  The keyboard hidden under the is the best on any phone.  Hands down.  Perfect.  Plus, the phone doesn’t have that cheap Feeling of the 2008 version.  True the shell doesn’t come off, but the rubberized back is sweet and makes it easy to grip.  Plus the camera is in a little better spot.  I don’t keep putting my finger on the lens.  It just feels better overall to me than the 2008 did.  Easier to use and hold.

Ok, so I haven’t received the update yet, but even without it the phone is still worth it.  The camera, though less resolution, takes slightly better pictures and has an almost too bright flash.  It is speedy and while it has less RAM than the other models, it hasn’t skipped or locked up on me yet.

The software is again, typical Sidekick/Danger.  Everything is easy to find and use.  Plus with the Jump/Menu button shortcuts, life is a breeze.  The catalog is still there, but custom themes are cool.  I put the Tony Hawk one on.  It is sweet.  Also the e-mail, IM, and music player are sweet as well (thank you for the 3.5mm headphone jack).

I’m not going to keep beating the dead horse.  This is an awesome phone.  Period.  Quality, usability, and just overall form factor make this worth owning.  If you text a lot and need a powerhouse of a phone without all the Windows and Blackberry nonsense then this is it.  True it is a little bigger than the Sidekick 2008, but it is easier overall to use and has a sexier screen.  Definatley worth it.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

Leave a Reply

 
