Form feet and legs. Form arms and body.

And I’ll form the head.

As the smoke clears…

Posted by rapaleeman on December 31, 2008

So this is going to be my last post of 2008.  I know it seems kinda dull and pointless to point that out (that sentence sounds bad when I read it back to myself but I don’t feel like correcting it). 

 The thing, or the point is, that time has passed.  Days turn to nights, which turn to weeks, and then to months and years.  Yet, I seem to be standing still.  Not just in life, but in thought.  I still like the things I liked when I was a kid (along with newer stuff I’ve acquired) and even though I am older, wiser, smarter, etc… I still feel the same.

I know people say as you grow older you change.  That may be true for some, but for me I seem to be the same guy I was when I was 10.  It’s kinda hard to explain, but overall I feel that even though I have made progress in life, a piece of me is, and always will be, well… me.

Sorry to trip out on people, and no I’m not high or drunk (will probably be drunk as hell later).  This is just something that I came to realize as I look back over my accomplishments, or lack thereof, in my life.  The good, the bad.  The happy, the sad.  I see the mistakes that I have made, but then I see some of the great decisions I have made to put myself on the successful career path that I am on and I think wow. 

This has been a pretty crappy year in terms of my personal life.  I had some shit go down last week that fucking sucked and on the whole, family wise shit has.. … … sucked.  Professionally, things have been great.  Yes, I know I have bitched about my workplace, but overall my rewards have paid off.  I jumped 3 pay grades and doubled my salary, got my own program to work under, and am a giant success with my co-workers.

With all this said, tomorrow is a new year.  A new beginning, as is every year.  I no longer make resolutions because, if you are a decent person and live well with your life, then resolutions are not required.

So as the smoke clears on the explosion that was 2008 think about all that you did (good or bad) and examaine how you want to live.  I hope that everyone has a great New Year, and that all the bad gets wiped away so that you can start anew. 

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!

Sorry for being so preachy.

Leave a Reply

 
