Form feet and legs. Form arms and body.

And I’ll form the head.

Review: 311 – Uplifter

Posted by rapaleeman on July 1, 2009

So I got the album a week ago (yes, I actually bought it).  Is this the ultimate 311 album or is it another “Don’t Tread On Me”.  Let’s find out.

So as you may have guessed, I hated “Don’t Tread On Me”.  Not that great of an album.  Only the title track and “Solar Flare” were worth a crap to me.  The rest was just average to below-average filler.  Not the case here.

To start I just saw them live at a great show at Nissan in the V to the A (Virignia) so this may be a tad skewed.  Same with the fact that they are one of my favorite active bands in existence today.  So as I try to remain objective, well, that may now happen.

This is a great album.  “Hey You” is an awesome starter and radio friendly single that talks about their love of music and how it saved their lives.  I can totally relate.  It doesn’t help that it is catchy as hell.

“It’s Alright” is a great follow-up and then the amazingly catchy “Mix It Up” which brings back memories (good ones) of “Crack The Code” from Evolver. 

“Golden Sunlight” is good, but honestly filler to get you to the awesome and song that will definately be a hit with fans “India Ink”.  It is all about how you want it all, but can’t really commit, or are having trouble actually putting yourself out there and going all the way.  Great track and extremely catchy, yet meaningful chorus.

Same thing can be said about “Daisy Cutter”.  “Too Much Too Fast” is just ok, not great.  The amazing “Never Ending Summer” is a perfect opener for their live show (which it was) and has again, a great chorus.

The next couple of songs are ok, not great.  More filler.  “Jackpot” is what fans have been asking for though.  A new anthem-styled powerhouse track in the name of “Down” or “Hive” from the Blue Album.  Powerful and just gets you moving.  I really want to break stuff while I listen to this track at my desk here at work.  Great song.

“My Heart Sings” is a good closer.  Almost as good as “Sometimes Jacks Rule The Realm” but not quite.  The 2 bonus tracks are really good, but “Get Down” sounds almost exactly like “Daisy Cutter”.  What the hell?

Overall, this is a great album.  It is definately getting a HIGHLY RECOMMENDED from me and most fans I think will agree.  At least those that realize that Hexum, SA, P-Nut, Tim, and Chad will never be teenagers again and write stuff like “Omaha Sylee” and “All Mixed Up” again.  311 has grown up and fortunately I have too. 

My tastes have matured and along with that, I scream for higher productions and more mature lyrics.   Fortunately “Uplifter” delivers on both accounts and 311 has crafted their best album in years.  Not quite up to “Transister” standards (nothing beats “Beautiful Disaster” or “Starshines”) but it is definately better than the Blue Album.  Yes, I said it.  I like this offering better than album that got me into the 311 craze to begin with. 

Go buy this now.  Even if your not a “true” fan.  Who knows, you might like it.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

Leave a Reply

 
